A Disordered Digest: Three New Books Exploring Eating Disorders

Column by Gabriel Hart
Gabriel Hart explores three new works of fiction probing eating disorders: 'Gag Reflex' by Elle Nash, '#thighgap' by Chandler Morrison, and 'The Appetite Factory' by Jon Gingerich.
On Becoming Nightbitch

On Becoming Nightbitch

Review by Stephanie M. Wytovich, MFA
A reflection on "Nightbitch" by Rachel Yoder that explores female rage and the importance of unapologetic women in fiction.
At Night All Blood Is Black

"At Night All Blood Is Black"

Review by Joshua Isard
A review of a lauded book no one else seems to be reading.
"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo August 2, 2022
Tim Waggoner follows up his 2020 Bram Stoker Award winning "Writing in the Dark" with this thought-provoking workbook.
"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

Review by Ben Tanzer
Brad Listi's latest. Is it a novel? A memoir? Or is it something more?
Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Rebooting Sci-Fi's Transgressive Roots: Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Review by Gabriel Hart June 20, 2022
Amphetamine Sulfate's new science fiction anthology bridges a commonly-overlooked gap in transgressive literature.

Can’t We Just Get Some Peace?

Column by Ben Tanzer December 22, 2021
Ruminations on End Times (and the short story collections Deadheading by Beth Gilstrap, The Cult in My Garage by Duncan Birmingham and JERKS by Sara Lippmann).
Review: Saint 1001 by Daphne Gottlieb

Review: "Saint 1001" by Daphne Gottlieb

Review by Nick Mamatas October 15, 2021
A letter from the culture, addressed to you, like the personal physical correspondence you haven’t received from even your closest friends in years.
WHEN THINGS GET DARK: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

Reading Notes: "When Things Get Dark": Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson edited by Ellen Datlow

Review by Sadie Hartmann October 6, 2021
I was quite blown away by the quality of every story in this anthology. These are my real-time reviewing notes I wrote down as I read.
"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

Review by Ben Tanzer
A beautiful, sad, frustrating memoir about a legally blind man who keeps his diagnosis from the world.
"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

Review by Alexander Pyles September 29, 2021
A review of Michael J. Seidlinger's latest: a genre-straddling, experimental piece of meta-fiction that will feel all too familiar to modern writers.
"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

Review by Joshua Isard
A preeminent linguist examines realms of language considered shocking and taboo in order to understand what imbues curse words with such power—and why we love them.

Overlooked 2020: A Post-pandemic Roundup of Overlooked Releases

Column by Ben Tanzer June 29, 2021
Digging back through some of the lost written treasures of 2020.
"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by C

"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by Chris Kelso

Review by Gabriel Hart
Kelso presents a fascinating exploration of Burroughs’s rarely mentioned but highly-formative era in Scotland.
"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

Review by Sadie Hartmann
A review of the upcoming horror novella, "Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke", by Eric LaRocca, in the style of one of my favorite resources, NoveList Plus.
Twisted: Tainted Tales by Janine Pipe

"Twisted: Tainted Tales" by Janine Pipe

Review by Andrew Fowlow
When readers buy "Twisted: Tainted Tales" by Janine Pipe, they are getting an admission ticket to a visceral horror show.
Dark Fiction We So Desperately Deserve Right Now

Ring Shout by P. Djèlí Clark

Review by Andrew Fowlow
We are all incredibly fortunate to have such a skilled writer determined to deliver this important message. Dark fiction with historical context we so desperately deserve.
Bookshots: 'A House at the Bottom of a Lake' by Josh Malerman

Bookshots: "A House at the Bottom of a Lake" by Josh Malerman

Review by Joshua Chaplinsky January 19, 2021
A review of Malerman's eminently creepy paean to teenage love.
"little threats" by Emily Schultz

"little threats" by Emily Schultz

Review by Ben Tanzer
A taut psychological thriller with a very relevant message about real world power dynamics.
"Along the Path of Torment" by Chandler Morrison

"Along the Path of Torment" by Chandler Morrison

Review by Sadie Hartmann
A punishing yet rewarding read that is not for everybody. Includes thoughts on reviewing extreme transgressive literature in general.
"Writing in the Dark" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo
A guide to understanding the horror genre that provides advice and tools for the beginner and refreshing tips for the veteran.
The Magic of Terry Pratchett by Marc Burrows

"The Magic of Terry Pratchett" by Marc Burrows

Review by Karina Wilson
Sir Terry Pratchett died in 2015 but his voluminous legacy lives on. This new biography charts his journey from Beaconsfield Public Library to Buckingham Palace, selling 85 million books along the way
Review: "It Came from the Multiplex: 80s Midnight Chillers" Edited By Joshua Vio

"It Came from the Multiplex: 80s Midnight Chillers" Edited by Joshua Viola

Review by Christopher Shultz
Reading 'Multiplex' is a bit like watching 'Creepshow': it’s gory, goofy, and painted in the broadest strokes imaginable.
"The Circus of Stolen Dreams" by Lorelei Savaryn

"The Circus of Stolen Dreams" by Lorelei Savaryn

Review by Jessica Marie Baumgartner
Sometimes an escape becomes the trap.
Review: "The Only Good Indians" by Stephen Graham Jones

"The Only Good Indians" by Stephen Graham Jones

Review by Christopher Shultz August 31, 2020
SGJ's latest novel is a graphically violent supernatural slasher narrative bound together with poignant heart and drama.