"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo
August 2, 2022 (1) comments
Tim Waggoner follows up his 2020 Bram Stoker Award winning "Writing in the Dark" with this thought-provoking workbook.
"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

Review by Ben Tanzer
June 21, 2022 (1) comments
Brad Listi's latest. Is it a novel? A memoir? Or is it something more?
Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Rebooting Sci-Fi's Transgressive Roots: Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Review by Gabriel Hart
June 20, 2022 (7) comments
Amphetamine Sulfate's new science fiction anthology bridges a commonly-overlooked gap in transgressive literature.
Review: Saint 1001 by Daphne Gottlieb

Review: "Saint 1001" by Daphne Gottlieb

Review by Nick Mamatas
October 15, 2021 (5) comments
A letter from the culture, addressed to you, like the personal physical correspondence you haven’t received from even your closest friends in years.
WHEN THINGS GET DARK: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

Reading Notes: "When Things Get Dark": Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson edited by Ellen Datlow

Review by Sadie Hartmann
October 6, 2021 (3) comments
I was quite blown away by the quality of every story in this anthology. These are my real-time reviewing notes I wrote down as I read.
"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

Review by Ben Tanzer
October 5, 2021 (1) comments
A beautiful, sad, frustrating memoir about a legally blind man who keeps his diagnosis from the world.
"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

Review by Alexander Pyles
September 29, 2021 (2) comments
A review of Michael J. Seidlinger's latest: a genre-straddling, experimental piece of meta-fiction that will feel all too familiar to modern writers.
"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

Review by Joshua Isard
July 1, 2021 (1) comments
A preeminent linguist examines realms of language considered shocking and taboo in order to understand what imbues curse words with such power—and why we love them.
"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by C

"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by Chris Kelso

Review by Gabriel Hart
June 9, 2021 (1) comments
Kelso presents a fascinating exploration of Burroughs’s rarely mentioned but highly-formative era in Scotland.
"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

Review by Sadie Hartmann
June 1, 2021 (1) comments
A review of the upcoming horror novella, "Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke", by Eric LaRocca, in the style of one of my favorite resources, NoveList Plus.