"Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

Review: "Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

There’s something rotten in the town of Johnstown, Pennsylvania. Something dark and evil in the woods. It’s taking children and young adults from their homes. Girls — Black girls, specifically. It’s taking their lives. It’s taking their hearts.

Is this dark, evil thing a man? Or is it something else? Something older, more feral, and more insubstantial than any animal?

These are the questions Liz Rocher must answer during a rare visit home for her best friend Mel’s wedding, when Mel’s biracial daughter Caroline vanishes seemingly without a trace. In her search for the missing girl, Liz must face not only the deep-seated history of racial tension and violence in her hometown, but also her own self-repressed memories of a dark night in the woods, when she may or may not have come face to face with the very predator she seeks to expose. 

"Jackal" is a book not to be missed, and Adams a writer with a no doubt bright and thriving career ahead of her.

This mystery unfolds with all the twists, turns, red herrings, and genuine surprises employed by a master of the genre, so it might surprise some to learn Jackal (published on October 4, 2022 via Bantam) is the debut novel from Erin E. Adams. No doubt the author’s background in playwriting and acting taught her a thing or two about the mechanics of plot and effectively moving a story along, as Adams has crafted a bonafide page-turner, a novel even the most casual of readers will neither want to nor be able to put down. 

But Adams’s talents go beyond the ability to construct a whodunnit thriller on par with the works of Agatha Christie. Jackal is a horror novel as well, utilizing our collective terror of the unknown wilds of the wilderness as its primary engine of fear. Adams’ prose is fairly terse overall, but she lets her literary muscles really flex when it comes to chilling and unnerving the reader, trading in haunting atmosphere and visceral gore as needed. Her scares as such work both on a surface and primal level.

Like the best horror stories, however, Adams’s narrative is at its most terrifying on a thematic level. The killings at the center of her novel are quickly called out for what they are — the deliberate destruction of young, Black female bodies, a bald fact the larger, predominately white community refuses to see. Murders have become accidents, disappearances with evidence of foul play are nothing more than runaway cases, innocent children are relabeled as drug addicts and whores. Of course, such hatred is a mask for internalized white fears and a secret desire to possess what these Black girls have that they do not. They covet Black flesh and identity, and for some, if they cannot wholly obtain it, they will destroy it instead.

The protagonist Liz must navigate these external fears and desires, while also grappling with this same dichotomy internally. She has always strived to be “one of the good ones,” a person who remains in the shadows, making no waves or strides toward success; a person in the middle, unseen and thus "safe." Her most difficult lesson lies in the understanding that “good” or “bad,” if you are Black, you are a target either way. Will this angering realization consume her and turn her into a force of destruction as well, or can her ire be used as a force of good? This tension comes to a satisfying and altogether poetic head at the novel’s climax, displaying Adams’s talents as a true storyteller, a weaver of narrative threads that come together into a perfect tapestry by story’s end.

With praise from the likes of Paul Tremblay and Alma Katsu, and with many more stellar writers sure to come, Jackal is a book not to be missed, and Adams a writer with a no doubt bright and thriving career ahead of her.

Get Jackal at Bookshop or Amazon

To leave a comment Login with Facebook or create a free account.

Comments

asad dave's picture
asad dave November 4, 2022 - 3:31am

Thanks for some other informative blog. The place else may just I am getting that kind of information written in such
a perfect way? I've a mission that I'm simply now runningon, and I have been on the glance out for such information.check out
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/" rel="dofollow">reptiles for sale</a>

asad dave's picture
asad dave November 4, 2022 - 3:36am

You delivered such an impressive piece to read, giving every subject enlightenment for us to gain information.
Thanks for sharing such information with us due to which my several concepts have been cleared.
<a href="https://mushroomshopusa.com/product/san-pedro-mescaline-cactus-cutting/" rel="dofollow">san pedro cactus for sale</a>

asad dave's picture
asad dave November 4, 2022 - 3:40am

<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">saxenda </a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">Saxenda pens</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">Saxenda pens for sale</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">saxenda weight loss injection</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">saxenda injection</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">saxenda injection for sale</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/redotex-norpseudoephedrine-atropine-aloin/" rel="dofollow">order redotex</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/redotex-norpseudoephedrine-atropine-aloin/" rel="dofollow">buy redotex online</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/redotex-norpseudoephedrine-atropine-aloin/" rel="dofollow">redotex for sale online</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/redotex-norpseudoephedrine-atropine-aloin/" rel="dofollow">where to buy redotex</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/itravil-ifa-clobenzorex-30-mg-60-caps/" rel="dofollow">itravil pills</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/itravil-ifa-clobenzorex-30-mg-60-caps/" rel="dofollow">itravil</a>
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/itravil-ifa-clobenzorex-30-mg-60-caps/" rel="dofollow">itravil diet pill</a>

 


<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product-category/magic-mushroom-grow-kits/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product-category/magic-mushroom-grow-kits/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product-category/magic-mushroom-grow-kits/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product-category/magic-mushroom-grow-kits/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>

<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/100-mycelium-magic-mushroom-growkit-b-2/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/100-mycelium-magic-mushroom-growkit-mckennaii-2/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/100-mycelium-magic-mushroom-growkit-mexican-2/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/azurescens-outdoor-growkit-2/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/mondo-grow-kit-amazonian-2/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/100-mycelium-magic-mushroom-growkit-golden-teacher/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/mushroom-grow-kit-ecuador-xp-by-freshmushrooms/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/grow-kit-golden-teacher/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>
<a href="https://mushroomstoreusa.com/product/mushroom-grow-kit-mckennaii-xp/" rel="dofollow">magic mushroom grow kit</a>

asad dave's picture
asad dave November 4, 2022 - 3:41am

<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/" rel="dofollow">reptiles for sale</a>

<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/alligators-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">alligators for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/chameleons-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">chameleons for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">lizards for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/bearded-dragons-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">bearded dragons for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/geckos-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">geckos for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/iguanas-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">iguanas for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/monitor-lizards-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">monitor lizards for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/skinks-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">skinks for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/uromastyx-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">uromastyx for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/snakes-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">snakesfor sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/snakes-for-sale/pythons-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">pythons for sale</a>
<a href="https://exoticreptilesshop.com/product-category/venomous-snakes-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">venomousnsnakes for sale</a>

<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/uromastyx-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">uromastyx for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/animal-categories/alligators-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">alligators for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">lizards for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/bearded-dragons-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">bearded dragons for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/geckos-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">geckos for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/iguana-for-sale-pet-iguana-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">iguana for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/monitor-lizards-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">monitor lizards for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/skinks-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">skinks for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/lizards-for-sale/tegus-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">tegus for sale</a>
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/product-category/snakes-for-sale/" rel="dofollow">snakes for sale</a>

asad dave's picture
asad dave November 4, 2022 - 3:42am

You have a real ability for writing unique content. I like how you think and the way you represent your views in this article. I agree with your way of thinking. Thank you for sharing.please check out my blog below
<a href="https://buy-magic-mushrooms.org/index.php/product/one-up-mushroom-bar-shroomiez-chocolate-bars-4g/" rel="dofollow">1 up mushroom bars</a>  1 up mushroom bars

 

Nice to be visiting your blog once more, it has been months for me. Well this article that ive been waited for therefore long. i want this article to finish my assignment within the faculty, and it has same topic together with your article.
<a href="https://undergroundreptileshub.com/" rel="dofollow">Reptiles for sale</a>


I think a lot of articles related to are disappearing someday. That’s why it’s very hard to find, but I’m very fortunate to read your writing. When you come to my site, I have collected articles related to
<a href="https://magic-mushroom-growkit.com/" rel="dofollow">Magic mushroom grow kit</a>   psychedelic mushroom growing kit amazon


Thank you for the Excellent article you have provided here
I really like to read your new articles
thank you . I just got to this astonishing site in the relatively recent past. The experience was unquestionably astonishing. On the off chance that lone I have the opportunity.  Thanks for sharing this informative post with us, Keep sharing it in the future also.
<a href="https://saxendapharmacy.com/product/saxenda-weight-loss-injection/" rel="dofollow">saxenda weight loss injection</a>

I haven’t any word to appreciate this post.....Really i am impressed from this post....the person who create this post it was a great human..thanks for shared this with us.
<a href="https://organicshrooms.info/product-category/buy-magic-mushrooms-dried-mushrooms/" rel="dofollow">Buy magic mushrooms</a>

MorganGwen's picture
MorganGwen November 8, 2022 - 1:26am

There are friends that really want you to be like them thank you my friend for telling me about Dr Ayoola. I was introduced to Dr Ayoola by my friend. me and my friend have been playing lottery games for some years now. and we are always running out of luck. One day my friend play and win. And I was surprise how my friend won the sun of 10 million euro I was asking him questions and he open up to me and told me it was by the help of Dr Ayoola so I ask him to help me. My friend gave me the contact of this great man call Dr Ayoola I contacted him and told him why I contacted him and also tell  him I got  his information form my friend. To cut the long story short Dr Ayoola help me with a winning number just as he did for my friend and I was able to won 13 million euro all thanks to you Dr Ayoola for your kind heart and for willing to help me and my friend I will for ever grateful to you sir because you have done what on one can do for me. You can contact him today and be the next to testify. this man is good when it come to giving winning numbers I will drop his details just Incase you need him to help you thank you sir you can contact him via  drayoolasolutionhome@gmail.com or https://www.facebook.com/Dr-Ayoola-105640401516053/ text or call +14809032128

HakaungaMaxwell's picture
HakaungaMaxwell November 15, 2022 - 1:06am

I use to be a very poor man who has always not find luck when it comes to playing the lottery. I have been playing lottery since i was 21 years and now i am 45 meaning i have been playing lottery for 24 years. The biggest amount i have ever won in my life was 400 dollars. But one day my story turns to history after i find this man called Dr Ayoola on the Internet that he is the best when it comes to winning lottery. This man is a very strong voodoo man who gives out the numbers that can never fail. After all my years of laboring and struggling to win the lottery i finally won ( $27,000,000) Dr Ayoola is the name, Email:  drayoolasolutionhome@gmail.com or contact him on his whatsApp number text or call +14809032128 this is the only way to win the lottery and the best way OR https://www.facebook.com/Dr-Ayoola-105640401516053/

joshbuster53's picture
joshbuster53 November 15, 2022 - 2:27am

All  thank to Dr Ayoola, My name is Josh Buster I live in California, I want to let the world know how this man changed my life and that of my family. I have been playing jackpot for so many years now hoping to win and start my own business, I have been a driver and same time I have being playing lottery game for more than 10 years now each time I play I always run out of luck. one day I was browsing with my phone when I saw some testimonies about this man call Dr Ayoola on how he has helped people win lottery games, I was shook and I ask myself if this is true and also contacted this man for help and told him everything, why I contacted him. He asked me if I have been playing lottery game before now and I said yes. He told me that he will help me with the right number to win if only we work together which I told him I am ready to work with him. After working with him he gave me a number to play, after playing the number Dr Ayoola gave to me, I came out a winner of jackpot of 1,000,000 millions dollars  all thanks to you Dr Ayoola for your help I am so happy now. And now I am fulfilling my promise by sharing your good work to the world. Dr Ayoola is  a great man and a man GOD has sent to help people and put a smile on peoples face. Thank you for what you have done for me Dr Ayoola I will be for ever grateful to you, you can contact him if you are willing to change your story for good via  drayoolasolutionhome@gmail.com or https://www.facebook.com/Dr-Ayoola-105640401516053/ text or call +14809032128

joshbuster53's picture
joshbuster53 November 15, 2022 - 2:34am

All  thank to Dr Ayoola, My name is Josh Buster I live in California, I want to let the world know how this man changed my life and that of my family. I have been playing jackpot for so many years now hoping to win and start my own business, I have been a driver and same time I have being playing lottery game for more than 10 years now each time I play I always run out of luck. one day I was browsing with my phone when I saw some testimonies about this man call Dr Ayoola on how he has helped people win lottery games, I was shook and I ask myself if this is true and also contacted this man for help and told him everything, why I contacted him. He asked me if I have been playing lottery game before now and I said yes. He told me that he will help me with the right number to win if only we work together which I told him I am ready to work with him. After working with him he gave me a number to play, after playing the number Dr Ayoola gave to me, I came out a winner of jackpot of 1,000,000 millions dollars  all thanks to you Dr Ayoola for your help I am so happy now. And now I am fulfilling my promise by sharing your good work to the world. Dr Ayoola is  a great man and a man GOD has sent to help people and put a smile on peoples face. Thank you for what you have done for me Dr Ayoola I will be for ever grateful to you, you can contact him if you are willing to change your story for good via  drayoolasolutionhome@gmail.com or https://www.facebook.com/Dr-Ayoola-105640401516053/ text or call +14809032128

Thomas Gibson's picture
Thomas Gibson November 22, 2022 - 3:02am

I want to use this opportunity to tell the whole world on how I become rich and famous. I’m 93 years old. I was passing through difficulty in business and there was no hope of me coming out of my debt.  I borrow  money in my bank to do my business and I run at lost on the business I got frustrated and  decided to be playing lottery to see if I can win and make my business grow and I have played for years now nothing good is coming my way on till I meet someone online talking about Dr Ayoola on the internet. He was taking about how this Dr Ayoola help him to win mega million lottery game. I said to myself if this is true and decide to contact him and told him to help me as well I later read more about this man and see how he has been helping people all over the world. I have faith in him and choose to work with him. After working with him he told me what I need to do for the number to be given to me which I did after he finish working he said I will have a dream and the number will be review to me in the dream. That night has I was sleeping I dream a number immediately he call me and gave me the same number I dream of and ask me to go and play the number. Today I’m here testifying of the good work he did for me I played the number and I won the sum of  1, 000,000 million dollars in a lotto max. You can contact Dr Ayoola for help if you want to win big in lottery game he has the gift of giving right number  contact him today and thank me email him today Via email: drayoolasolutionhome@gmail. com or https://www.facebook.com/Dr-Ayoola-105640401516053/ text or call +14809032128

Annette Mylan's picture
Annette Mylan November 22, 2022 - 3:25am

Now You Can Stop Your Break Up, Divorce or Lovers Rejection…Even If Your Situation Seems Hopeless! I contacted a real spell caster DR Prince that helped me change my husband’s heart to love and want me again, and he really did and now we are very happy together. If you are here and your Lover is turning you down I will advise you to contact DR Prince . The potency of his spell is so effective and can reunite broken relationships and can also make one get pregnant no matter the situation and not only that, he also has the power to cure all types of diseases within the period of 48hours. I am a great testimony. Contact him today and thank me later. You can also contact him on WHATSAPP: +18144484537  EMAIL:  obinnaspelltemple@yahoo.com website   https://obinnaspelltemple.com

doncole's picture
doncole November 30, 2022 - 3:23am

My Name is Donald from the United States, I want to say thank you to Mr Mark Toray for the good thing he has done for me, Though am not sure if this is the best forum to show my joy and happiness for what he has done for me but i can’t hide my happiness and my joy so i have to share it with people. This is unbelievable, at first I never actually built any interest in this Binary/Forex trading of a thing but when I later gave it a try with the Help of this wonderful Expert Trader Mr Mark Toray, it was a successful trade for me. All i did was to invest $1000 into my first trading and to my greatest surprise, I received a huge amount of $12,520 as profit in 7 days of trading... Mr Mark Toray was the trader that made it possible and he is still doing it all for me.. You want to be happy and be free like me do well to reach out to her via Email: Marktoray8@gmail.com, Telegram: @Mark4toray_fx

leeminett's picture
leeminett December 6, 2022 - 12:25am

Compliment of the season. All thanks to the entire team of Hack West. I never believed that my credit score could be up again after several disappointments by those who claim to be credit specialist. I constantly followed up reviews about Hack West but didn’t believe because of the fear from my previous experiences. I took the bold step by writing Hackwest@writeme.com and Whatsapp +1 (424) 307 2638; I immediately got a reply from them assuring me of getting my score up and clearing all negative items in less than a month. I had to put in my all and Glory be to God they delivered on the promise, I now have an average FICO score of 782 and great tradelines such as mortgage, auto, installment, revolving and open accounts. The customer relationship is superb and charges are moderate. I strongly recommend Hack West  for all kinds of :

Credit Repair

Crypto Currency Recovery

University Result Upgrade/Change

Student Loan wipe

Catch a suspected cheating spouse

Rescue you from a blackmailer (extortionist)

Phone cloning

Website hacks

Clearing of criminal records

Social Media Hack, e.t.c.

Get the best and appropriate help now!!!!