"The Black Dog Eats The City" by Chris Kelso

"The Black Dog Eats The City" by Chris Kelso

Review by Thomas Kendall
A review of the hardcover rerelease from West Vine Press.
Review: "Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

"Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

Review by Christopher Shultz
November 3, 2022 (12) comments
In her debut novel, Adams spectacularly weaves a serial killer whodunnit into the classist and racist history of America.
"Mothwoman" by Nicole Cushing

"Mothwoman" by Nicole Cushing

Review by Christopher Shultz
October 11, 2022 (11) comments
The latest novel from the Bram Stoker Award-winning Cushing is her most ambitious and mind-melting yet.
On Becoming Nightbitch

On Becoming Nightbitch

August 12, 2022 (6) comments
A reflection on "Nightbitch" by Rachel Yoder that explores female rage and the importance of unapologetic women in fiction.
At Night All Blood Is Black

"At Night All Blood Is Black"

Review by Joshua Isard
August 10, 2022 (5) comments
A review of a lauded book no one else seems to be reading.
"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo
August 2, 2022 (5) comments
Tim Waggoner follows up his 2020 Bram Stoker Award winning "Writing in the Dark" with this thought-provoking workbook.
"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

Review by Ben Tanzer
June 21, 2022 (5) comments
Brad Listi's latest. Is it a novel? A memoir? Or is it something more?
Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Rebooting Sci-Fi's Transgressive Roots: Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Review by Gabriel Hart
June 20, 2022 (6) comments
Amphetamine Sulfate's new science fiction anthology bridges a commonly-overlooked gap in transgressive literature.
Review: Saint 1001 by Daphne Gottlieb

Review: "Saint 1001" by Daphne Gottlieb

Review by Nick Mamatas
October 15, 2021 (8) comments
A letter from the culture, addressed to you, like the personal physical correspondence you haven’t received from even your closest friends in years.
WHEN THINGS GET DARK: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

Reading Notes: "When Things Get Dark": Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson edited by Ellen Datlow

Review by Sadie Hartmann
October 6, 2021 (9) comments
I was quite blown away by the quality of every story in this anthology. These are my real-time reviewing notes I wrote down as I read.