The Most Nonsensical Terms Used in Book Blurbs

Column by Peter Derk June 3, 2019
Are you seeing these everywhere too? Are you *gasp* blurbing books this way?

Confession: I Paid For Book Reviews

Column by Peter Derk November 21, 2016
Stigma, cost, and secret societies. Why I bought book reviews and what I learned.

7 Things That Are Ruining Amateur Book Reviews

Column by Peter Derk August 18, 2016
Are you an amateur book reviewer? Are you making these mistakes? Because if you are, I really don't like you.
Quiet Creature on the Corner

Bookshots: 'Quiet Creature on the Corner' by Joao Gilberto Noll

Review by Leah Dearborn
A bit like wandering through an art exhibition where you don't necessarily enjoy or understand all the pieces on display, but they do make you think.

The Joy of Writing Negative Book Reviews

Column by Peter Derk March 29, 2016
Forget the necessity of negative book reviews. Sometimes writing one is just fun.
Amazon's Top All-Time Reviewer Passes Away

Amazon's Top All-Time Reviewer Passes Away

News by Peter Derk
Harriet Klausner, the woman who wrote 30K positive Amazon reviews, has passed away.

Do It Right, Write Plotless Reviews

Column by Peter Derk
If you're writing plot-heavy book reviews, you're blowing it. Find out how to do it right.

Readers Do Not Owe Writers Anything

Column by Max Booth III January 8, 2015
Every new book is a first date trying to convince the reader to take it home and get naked.

Five Terrifying Things About Getting Published

Column by Ed Sikov October 17, 2014
You think that getting published would be a joyous occasion. Think again. It's a horror show.

Let’s Get Critical! How Book Reviewing Can Make You A Better Storyteller

Column by Keith Rawson
Can book reviewing make you a better storyteller? Hell yes it can! And here's Keith Rawson's take on how to do it.
Someimes the Wolf

Bookshots: 'Sometimes the Wolf' by Urban Waite

Review by Cath Murphy October 8, 2014
Comparisons to Cormac McCarthy are justified. Now there's a sentence I never thought I'd type.
The Boy Who Drew Monsters

Bookshots: "The Boy Who Drew Monsters"

Review by Ed Sikov October 6, 2014
Similar to seeing dead people, the boy in 'The Boy Who Drew Monsters' draws dead people. Shipwreck dead people, to be exact.
'Rooms' by Lauren Oliver

Bookshots: 'Rooms: A Novel' by Lauren Oliver

Review by Leah Dearborn
Whether or not you’re able to enjoy 'Room's depends on how you answer one question: does a book need likable characters in order to be an excellent reading experience?
'Horrorstör' by Grady Hendrix

Bookshots: "Horrorstor" by Grady Hendrix

Review by Leah Rhyne September 23, 2014
Horrorstör: shop until you...die?

Death Threats and the Death of the Book Review

Column by Dean Fetzer March 7, 2014
Are we entitled to some kind of reciprocal linking if we review someone’s book (particularly if we write a good review)? More's to the point - is there any point to book reviews?
2013 ‘Hatchet Job of the Year' Award

Eight Finalists Chosen for 2013 ‘Hatchet Job of the Year' Award

News by Dean Fetzer
Book reviews sometimes get a bit vicious. This award is given out annually to a journalist who pens a distinctive review for a magazine or newspaper.

Why I Paid for a Book Review and Why I Won't Do It Again

Column by Erik Wecks December 7, 2012
Paying for a book review can be attractive for an indie author just starting out. One author shares how the experience went a bit sideways for him.
 IDreamBooks.com Tells You What's Worth Reading

Newly Launched IDreamBooks.com Tells You What's Worth Reading

News by Kimberly Turner July 12, 2012
A website launched today that aims to be the RottenTomatoes or MetaCritic of books. IDreamBooks.com aggregates professional reviews to give each book an overall positive or negative rating.
Race And The New York Times Book Reviews

Does It Matter If You're Black Or White?: Race And The New York Times Book Review

News by Dave Reuss June 13, 2012
A new study claims that 88% of books reviewed by The New York Times are written by white authors. Racism or representative of our population?