Bookshots: 'Central Station' by Lavie Tidhar

Review by BH Shepherd
A concise review of 'Central Station' by Lavie Tidhar.

Bookshots: 'Zero K' By Don Delillo

Review by Keith Rawson May 4, 2016
A brief review of Don DeLillo's latest magnum opus, 'Zero K'.
"Black Wings Has My Angel" by Elliot Chaze

Bookshots: "Black Wings Has My Angel" by Elliot Chaze

Review by BH Shepherd January 19, 2016
A brief review of "Black Wings Has My Angel" by Elliot Chaze
"The Disassembled Man" by Jon Bassoff

Bookshots: "The Disassembled Man" by Jon Bassoff

Review by Christine J. Schmidt
You've never read gross like this.
Bookshots: "Love And Other Wounds" By Jordan Harper

Bookshots: "Love And Other Wounds" By Jordan Harper

Review by Keith Rawson
A brief review of television writer Jordan Harper's debut collection, 'Love And Other Wounds.'
Bookshots: 'Seveneves' by Neal Stephenson

Bookshots: 'Seveneves' by Neal Stephenson

Review by BH Shepherd
A concise review of Seveneves by Neal Stephenson
Asura Girl

Bookshots: "Asura Girl" by Otaro Maijo

Review by BH Shepherd
Hedonistic indulgence in casual sex and brutal, anime-grade violence abound in this award-winning novel.
Some Luck

Bookshots: 'Some Luck' by Jane Smiley

Review by Cath Murphy
Can Jane 'Pulitzer Prize' Smiley pull off another blinder? The jury is still out.
Hello Devilfish

Bookshots: 'Hello Devilfish!' by Ron Dakron

Review by Ryan Peverly
Ron Dakron's "Hello Devilfish!" is part comic absurdity, part serious social commentary, and all entertainment all the time.
Bookshots: "The Glob Who Girdled Granville" and "The Secret Lives of Actors": A

Bookshots: "The Glob Who Girdled Granville" and "The Secret Lives of Actors": A Double Monster Feature, by Peter Grandbois

Review by Chris Rosales
Peter Grandbois's latest Monster Double Feature collection of novellas will amuse and terrify you at the same time.
The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances

Bookshots: 'The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances' by The Oatmeal

Review by Leah Rhyne October 1, 2014
Matthew Inman (aka The Oatmeal) tries to explain why he runs ultra-long distances, with hilarious and poignant results. Yes. I said poignant. Deal with it.
'Butterfly Skin' by Sergey Kuznetsov

Bookshots: 'Butterfly Skin' by Sergey Kuznetsov

Review by Ryan Peverly
The 90s Russian cult novel finally gets an English translation. Will American audiences eat it up too?
The Willow Tree

'The Willow Tree' by Hubert Selby, Jr.

Review by Phil Jourdan July 29, 2013
Selby's take on love and forgiveness is still violent, disturbing and uncomfortable. That's why we love him.

Pond or Ocean: A Review of 'Ocean at the End of the Lane' by Neil Gaiman

Column by Rajan Khanna July 24, 2013
'The Ocean at the End of the Lane' is Neil Gaiman's first adult novel in seven years. How does it hold up to his other work?
I Wear the Black Hat by Chuck Klosterman

"I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling with Villains (Real and Imagined)" by Chuck Klosterman

Review by John Jarzemsky July 9, 2013
Chuck Klosterman's latest collection of non-fiction essays examines how we define villains within pop culture and how perceptions of good and evil change with time.
'That’s How I Roll' by Andrew Vachss

'That’s How I Roll' by Andrew Vachss

Review by Frank Bill May 9, 2012
Andrew Vachss returns, with a new novel that tells the story of Esau Till, a cripple who sits recounting his confessional to the page after the accidental killing of a Fed.
'The Wind Through the Keyhole' by Stephen King

'The Wind Through the Keyhole' by Stephen King

Review by Meredith Borders April 27, 2012
Stephen King revisits the world of the Dark Tower...sort of.
Review: 'The Sea is My Brother' by Jack Kerouac

'The Sea is My Brother' by Jack Kerouac

Review by John Jarzemsky March 20, 2012
We review and are giving away three copies of Jack Kerouac's lost manuscript, "The Sea is My Brother".
A Machine and Parts Review

'As a Machine and Parts' by Caleb J. Ross

Review by Brandon Tietz January 17, 2012
A review of the mechanical new novella from 'Stranger Will' author Caleb J. Ross.
Wild Abandon Review

'Wild Abandon' by Joe Dunthorne

Review by Karina Wilson
Joe "Submarine" Dunthorne's 2nd novel, "Wild Abandon," lifts the lid on a contemporary commune nestled in the Welsh hills. Not all the residents are as happy and fulfilled as the website pics suggest.
'Distrust That Particular Flavor' review

'Distrust That Particular Flavor' by William Gibson

Review by Keith Rawson January 4, 2012
William Gibson disseminates and delimitates pop culture in his first collection of nonfiction.
Murder In Mount Holly by Paul Theroux

'Murder In Mount Holly' by Paul Theroux

Review by Keith Rawson December 6, 2011
Boy meets war, war kills boy, boy's mother and delusional friends rob bank out of revenge in Paul Theroux's latest comic masterpiece.
Harbor Review

"Harbor" by John Ajvide Lindqvist

Review by Joshua Chaplinsky November 30, 2011
The author of 'Let The Right One In' ups the ante with 'Harbor', a haunting tale about the ancient power of the sea and the inescapable sins of the father.
'11/22/63' by Stephen King

'11/22/63' by Stephen King

Review by Richard Thomas November 18, 2011
On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, president Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could go back and change it?
'1Q84' by Haruki Murakami

'1Q84' by Haruki Murakami

Review by Joshua Chaplinsky November 11, 2011
Murakami's latest is an epic genre mash-up that takes its time and does a whole lot of things right.