Fylh's picture
Fylh from from from is reading is from is reading is reading is reading reading is reading January 10, 2012 - 1:21pm

Hey LitReactors,

For a while I've been working on something that's finally coming to fruition. I've been offered the chance to create a new imprint at a publisher based in the UK and USA, and I'm going to be publishing the kind of thing that I know some of you like: dark, edgy, smart fiction — in paperback and in ebook form.

What this means is that at some point in the not-very-distant future, I'm going to be opening the doors to submissions. Fans of Palahniuk, Clevenger, Easton Ellis and writers in that vein will be welcome to submit their novels for review.

The books will not be available in hardback. The covers will all look like of pulpy and gritty. That's going to be the "look" of the imprint — which, by the way, is called Perfect Edge Books.

Although I am part of LitReactor's original team, I'm doing this with other people, and I would prefer not to be contacted by PM on here about this. It could be confusing, annoying and in any event not good form. No doubt there will be an inevitable crossover in some ways, but do me a favor (to help me stay sane) and send any questions you might have about the press to the email address I'm going to set up in a while. Until then, there's no point in contacting me anyway, because I'm approaching some authors directly myself to launch the series. When the doors open to new submissions, I promise I'll make it public.

I'm happy about this, and I can't wait to read some submissions in a couple of months. Until then, I would really, really, reallllly benefit from a few "likes" on Facebook so that I can start networking a little better in these early days. I only just set up the Facebook page yesterday.

 

avery of the dead's picture
avery of the dead from Kentucky is reading Cipher Sisters January 10, 2012 - 1:31pm

Well, congratulations!  That sounds great, Phil!  Yay!

wickedvoodoo's picture
wickedvoodoo from Mansfield, England is reading stuff. January 10, 2012 - 1:32pm

Very cool, Phil.

Hope it all comes together as you plan. It sounds great. Now all I gotta do is get a novel length manuscript together, eh?

Might be some time.

 

Utah's picture
Moderator
Utah from Fort Worth, TX is reading Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry January 10, 2012 - 1:33pm

Shit, congratulations, Phil!  That is good stuff and it sounds as if it should be a wonderful opportunity for you.  Do good work!

I, for one, will continue to not PM you. 

Profunda Saint-Sylvain's picture
Profunda Saint-... from Calgary, AB is reading Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy Series January 10, 2012 - 1:38pm

Sounds wicked, plus I got the link I needed to log into facebook at work, so consider yourself liked! Looking forward to seeing what comes from this!

avery of the dead's picture
avery of the dead from Kentucky is reading Cipher Sisters January 10, 2012 - 1:39pm

I actually will PM you, but I promise to keep it random and off-topic. 

R.Moon's picture
R.Moon from The City of Champions is reading The Last Thing He Wanted by Joan Didion; Story Structure Architect by Victoria Lynn Schimdt PH.D; Creating Characters by the editors of Writer's Digest January 10, 2012 - 1:40pm

Awesome! I do have a question, but I will wait...

postpomo's picture
postpomo from Canada is reading words words words January 10, 2012 - 1:45pm

Is you first publication a Heinz catsup label?

that's awesome news - glad to hear that your doing it right. Best of luck.

Jay.SJ's picture
Jay.SJ from London is reading Warmed and Bound January 10, 2012 - 1:46pm

Any publications scheduled yet?

Typewriter Demigod's picture
Typewriter Demigod from London is reading "White Noise" by DeLilo, "Moby-Dick" by Hermann Mellivile and "Uylsses" by Joyce January 10, 2012 - 1:49pm

fuck yes!

Typewriter Demigod's picture
Typewriter Demigod from London is reading "White Noise" by DeLilo, "Moby-Dick" by Hermann Mellivile and "Uylsses" by Joyce January 10, 2012 - 1:57pm

And a question: do you work like a normal publisher, ie, agent needed to submit.

Fylh's picture
Fylh from from from is reading is from is reading is reading is reading reading is reading January 10, 2012 - 2:03pm

Thanks everyone.

We've got some proposals in the works from some people, but nothing official yet.

And you don't need an agent. However, we're not a "normal" publisher either. We do things in a quirky way, and I can't change much of that. So in theory we could have your book out three months after you sign the contract, because of the way the company is organized. But I'm not going to comment on any of that yet. Right now I just want to raise awareness of this new thing, and get people excited, and try to figure out how I can best work with the system that's already in place in the company that I'm working for.

Arkadia's picture
Arkadia from Australia is reading Selected Poems by W.H. Auden January 10, 2012 - 2:04pm

Congrats! Anything you slap a gold star on, I will read. How very, very cool that you're doing this.

Typewriter Demigod's picture
Typewriter Demigod from London is reading "White Noise" by DeLilo, "Moby-Dick" by Hermann Mellivile and "Uylsses" by Joyce January 10, 2012 - 2:06pm

OK, When you're ready, say!

Chester Pane's picture
Chester Pane from Portland, Oregon is reading The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz January 10, 2012 - 2:24pm

You are one busy Philologist. 

Cool news man.

postpomo's picture
postpomo from Canada is reading words words words January 10, 2012 - 2:29pm

consider me excited.

enough's picture
enough from Indiana is reading Warmed and Bound January 10, 2012 - 2:55pm

That's some good shit Phil. Grats!

bryanhowie's picture
bryanhowie from FW, ID is reading East of Eden. Steinbeck is FUCKING AMAZING. January 10, 2012 - 3:21pm

Congrats.  That sounds awesome!

Liana's picture
Liana from Romania and Texas is reading Naked Lunch January 10, 2012 - 3:23pm

That sounds awesome Phil! Ten PMs from me are waiting in your PM box.

ReneeAPickup's picture
Class Facilitator
ReneeAPickup from Southern California is reading A truckload of books January 10, 2012 - 3:27pm

Congratulations! That's really awesome! *off to "like" the facebook page*

.'s picture
. January 10, 2012 - 3:47pm

Congrats Phil! Good luck to you and your company. I'll start on the novel length manuscripts now I suppose. :D

jl85's picture
jl85 from originally East Tennessee now Southern California is reading everything I can January 10, 2012 - 6:55pm

Once again time to raise that motherfucking rod for Phil! Congrats man! Hope to see some of us come your way soon!

aliensoul77's picture
aliensoul77 from a cold distant star is reading the writing on the wall. January 10, 2012 - 7:01pm

Now everyone is going to get inspired to write a novel. I know I am feeling optimistic now.  At least he said its for fans of Palahniuk, Ellis and Clevenger. If we had to aspire to write like James Joyce, we would be screwed.

@Josef--you raise the rod for Phil. lol

Utah's picture
Moderator
Utah from Fort Worth, TX is reading Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry January 10, 2012 - 7:32pm

I raise this glass of water for Phil!

jl85's picture
jl85 from originally East Tennessee now Southern California is reading everything I can January 10, 2012 - 10:55pm

HAHA I just checked this! I was using Swype on my android and didn't double check all the words... fuck it, I'll raise the rod for this one lol. Seriously though, it makes me want to cut off my internet, quit spending so much time on here, and finish my novel.

CStodd's picture
CStodd from NY is reading Annie Prouxl's Fine Just the Way It Is January 10, 2012 - 11:22pm

Best of luck Phil, finally someone not talking shit and really doing their thing. 

Utah's picture
Moderator
Utah from Fort Worth, TX is reading Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry January 11, 2012 - 6:55am

You know, Stoker, when some people are talking shit they really are doing their thing.  Don't judge!

ReneeAPickup's picture
Class Facilitator
ReneeAPickup from Southern California is reading A truckload of books January 11, 2012 - 10:06am

I'm raising my coffee to Phil, and that is serious shit in this house.

Hetch Litman's picture
Hetch Litman from Ojai, Ca. is reading Wise Blood by Flannery OConnor January 11, 2012 - 10:32am

That's pretty amazing, Phil. Congratulations are in order. 

Nighty Nite's picture
Nighty Nite from NJ is reading Grimscribe: His Lives and Works January 11, 2012 - 7:30pm

With the book coming out and now this, it's looking like an awesome year for you, Phil. Seriously, man, congrats! I can't wait to see what this churns out.

I need to finish my damn manuscript.

EdVaughn's picture
EdVaughn from Louisville, Ky is reading a whole bunch of different stuff January 11, 2012 - 8:33pm

congrats Phil. Looking forward to reading the books you put out. 

Dave's picture
Dave from a city near you is reading constantly January 11, 2012 - 8:35pm

Good job Phil! Congrats!