Ken Leek's picture
Ken Leek from San Diego is reading 'Tis by Frank McCourt July 3, 2012 - 4:24pm

My first published book by a small indie publisher has been released and I'm having a hard time finding outlets that will review my book, or at least read it, and review it if they find it worthy. Any suggestions on sites, blogs, zines, podcasts, etc. that are open to harsh realism written by a newcomer? My only stipulation is that it not be a paid review outlet as they are icky and weak. Below is the cover and here is a link to amazon reviews.

Any suggestions are much appreciated!

Matt Attack's picture
Matt Attack from Richmond, Va. is reading As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner July 4, 2012 - 4:17am

Break it into parts and submit to workshop

Ken Leek's picture
Ken Leek from San Diego is reading 'Tis by Frank McCourt July 4, 2012 - 6:57am

Break it into parts and submit to workshop

 

Although that is a great idea, I must not have been clear in my post. I'm looking to get reviews of my entire book so that I can use those reviews in my press kit. For example, a book review you would find in a newspaper or magazine or something. I have reviews on Amazon but I would like to get some reviews by people who write about books and then publish said reviews.

Nighty Nite's picture
Nighty Nite from NJ is reading Grimscribe: His Lives and Works July 5, 2012 - 12:16am

I'm Editor-in-Chief over at a new literary journal launching later this month. We're called Insomnia Press.

We focus on dark fiction and have a few book reviews coming up in Issue #1 (Done by litreactor user jacks_username)

I'd be more than happy to give it a read and have it reviewed for our next issue. Looks right up our alley.

You could also try out The Surreal Grotesque

Ken Leek's picture
Ken Leek from San Diego is reading 'Tis by Frank McCourt July 6, 2012 - 5:14am

Nighty Nite- Thanks! I'll definitely be in touch! I see jacks_username on here all the time and I'd be happy to hear what he has to say.

ReneeAPickup's picture
Class Facilitator
ReneeAPickup from Southern California is reading Wanderers by Chuck Wendig July 6, 2012 - 1:36pm

Jacks is also part of Books And Booze (if you cruise around the Self Promotion tab, you'll see us) we do reviews and author interviews. We're just getting up and running, but we're always down for mutual backscratching, and if you're going to send it to Jacks, you may as well get a two-for-one, right? Yeah? Is it weird to promote myself in a thread where you are promoting yourself? Kind of. But yeah.

misskokamon's picture
misskokamon from San Francisco is reading The Moonlit Mind July 6, 2012 - 3:58pm

You can also send it my way. I do reviews for an online magazine called YAMMAG. Well, kinda. I haven't done one in a long time. But I'd be down for doing it now.

Just know that I won't go easy on you. I'm a tough cookie! 

 <--Tough! Really!

.'s picture
. July 6, 2012 - 6:32pm

Ken,

Yes, I am a busy man. 

But I'd love to do a review for your book! 

Just send me a PM and we can sort out the details.