dattamante's picture
dattamante from New Jersey is reading The Shining by Stephen King March 22, 2013 - 9:04pm

Hey guys, new guy here. I looked around but couldn't find an answer. Just curious if you'll get a notification about an 'unhelpful' review or just have to assume after a while the author either abandoned the story or gave you an 'unhelpful' review.

 

I guess while I'm here I'll also just ask how many points it is to submit a story instead of making a new post. The site makes it seem like it's a flat 15.

 

Thanks.

ReneeAPickup's picture
Class Facilitator
ReneeAPickup from Southern California is reading Wanderers by Chuck Wendig March 22, 2013 - 9:39pm

I know you get a notification for "Helpful" and "Very Helpful" so it stands to reason you'd get one for an "Unhelpful"...

It is always 15 points to submit a story. So you have to average 5 "Very Helpful" reviews for each story. It may seem like a lot, but I've found critiquing, doing line-by-lines, and thinking through these stories has taught me a lot, too. Plus, there's good stories in there.

Jonathan Riley's picture
Jonathan Riley from Memphis, Tennessee is reading Flashover by Gordon Highland March 22, 2013 - 11:04pm

Everything Renee said is true. You will also get an unhelpful notice if they rank you that way. I remember a debate about this a while back. However if you rated a story from someone who goes MIA you get all three points after like ten days I believe.

Hope that helps.

 

dattamante's picture
dattamante from New Jersey is reading The Shining by Stephen King March 22, 2013 - 11:24pm

thanks. real helpful.

dattamante's picture
dattamante from New Jersey is reading The Shining by Stephen King March 22, 2013 - 11:33pm

So then, in theory, going through the old horror contest entries from a month or two ago wouldn't be a bad idea? I like horror but seeing as it was a closed contest I hadn't seen much point to critiquing stories that may never be touched again until at least next September. 

Jonathan Riley's picture
Jonathan Riley from Memphis, Tennessee is reading Flashover by Gordon Highland March 22, 2013 - 11:38pm

Actually, the contests don't award review points at all. Only the workshop does.

dattamante's picture
dattamante from New Jersey is reading The Shining by Stephen King March 22, 2013 - 11:39pm

Does that include when the contest is going on?

Jonathan Riley's picture
Jonathan Riley from Memphis, Tennessee is reading Flashover by Gordon Highland March 22, 2013 - 11:41pm

Yeah, but if you review alot, during the Teleport Us contest you could be awarded books and shirts and such. But no workshop points.

Renfield's picture
Renfield from Hell is reading 20th Century Ghosts March 23, 2013 - 11:06am

I'd give someone an unhelpful review if they obviously didn't take the time or thought and just threw up some "good job! I like this/Yeah, this wasn't for me. I don't like first-person," stuff that really is unhelpful, just so they could get their points. No. Take the time to actually think about stuff, answer all the questions the author has, etc. You don't have to be particularly good at reviewing, just show some effort.

Yeah I think you get a private message everytime someone rates your review as unhelpful. You get no points. Shrug it off and see what you can improve of your critique process on the next story.

Dwayne's picture
Dwayne from Cincinnati, Ohio (suburbs) is reading books that rotate to often to keep this updated March 23, 2013 - 1:46pm

I only give unhelpful if I'm not sure the person read what I posted. Like if they keep talking about werewolves in reply to a mundane story, or gloss over something that took 8 pages of a 11 page essay. That being said I had someone complain about that once so you get notified. 

Utah's picture
Moderator
Utah from Fort Worth, TX is reading Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry March 23, 2013 - 2:59pm

If you haven't received a notice it's because the owner of the story hasn't read and rated your review. If it's been a few days, hit them up in an IM, because after a week (or ten days or something like that) the site gives you a default "helpful" rating, which is only 2 points.

Dwayne's picture
Dwayne from Cincinnati, Ohio (suburbs) is reading books that rotate to often to keep this updated March 23, 2013 - 4:13pm

I thought it was after a month.