"The Black Dog Eats The City" by Chris Kelso

"The Black Dog Eats The City" by Chris Kelso

Review by Thomas Kendall
A review of the hardcover rerelease from West Vine Press.
Review: "Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

"Jackal" by Erin E. Adams

Review by Christopher Shultz November 3, 2022
In her debut novel, Adams spectacularly weaves a serial killer whodunnit into the classist and racist history of America.
"Mothwoman" by Nicole Cushing

"Mothwoman" by Nicole Cushing

Review by Christopher Shultz October 11, 2022
The latest novel from the Bram Stoker Award-winning Cushing is her most ambitious and mind-melting yet.

A Fiction Roundup Both Painful and Poignant

Column by Ben Tanzer
Ben Tanzer discusses recent reads from Coco Picard, Tommy Dean, Rebecca Van Laer and Ravi Mangla that had a powerful effect on him.

A Disordered Digest: Three New Books Exploring Eating Disorders

Column by Gabriel Hart
Gabriel Hart explores three new works of fiction probing eating disorders: 'Gag Reflex' by Elle Nash, '#thighgap' by Chandler Morrison, and 'The Appetite Factory' by Jon Gingerich.
On Becoming Nightbitch

On Becoming Nightbitch

Review by Stephanie M. Wytovich, MFA August 12, 2022
A reflection on "Nightbitch" by Rachel Yoder that explores female rage and the importance of unapologetic women in fiction.
At Night All Blood Is Black

"At Night All Blood Is Black"

Review by Joshua Isard August 10, 2022
A review of a lauded book no one else seems to be reading.
"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark: The Workbook" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo August 2, 2022
Tim Waggoner follows up his 2020 Bram Stoker Award winning "Writing in the Dark" with this thought-provoking workbook.
"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

"Be Brief and Tell Them Everything": A Rumination and Kind of Review

Review by Ben Tanzer June 21, 2022
Brad Listi's latest. Is it a novel? A memoir? Or is it something more?
Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Rebooting Sci-Fi's Transgressive Roots: Amphetamine Sulfate's "Human Rights" Collection

Review by Gabriel Hart June 20, 2022
Amphetamine Sulfate's new science fiction anthology bridges a commonly-overlooked gap in transgressive literature.

Can’t We Just Get Some Peace?

Column by Ben Tanzer December 22, 2021
Ruminations on End Times (and the short story collections Deadheading by Beth Gilstrap, The Cult in My Garage by Duncan Birmingham and JERKS by Sara Lippmann).
Review: Saint 1001 by Daphne Gottlieb

Review: "Saint 1001" by Daphne Gottlieb

Review by Nick Mamatas October 15, 2021
A letter from the culture, addressed to you, like the personal physical correspondence you haven’t received from even your closest friends in years.
WHEN THINGS GET DARK: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

Reading Notes: "When Things Get Dark": Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson edited by Ellen Datlow

Review by Sadie Hartmann October 6, 2021
I was quite blown away by the quality of every story in this anthology. These are my real-time reviewing notes I wrote down as I read.
"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

"Blind Man’s Bluff" by James Tate Hill: A Review (of sorts)

Review by Ben Tanzer October 5, 2021
A beautiful, sad, frustrating memoir about a legally blind man who keeps his diagnosis from the world.
"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

"Runaways: A Writer’s Dilemma" by Michael J. Seidlinger

Review by Alexander Pyles September 29, 2021
A review of Michael J. Seidlinger's latest: a genre-straddling, experimental piece of meta-fiction that will feel all too familiar to modern writers.
"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

"Nine Nasty Words" by John McWhorter

Review by Joshua Isard July 1, 2021
A preeminent linguist examines realms of language considered shocking and taboo in order to understand what imbues curse words with such power—and why we love them.

Overlooked 2020: A Post-pandemic Roundup of Overlooked Releases

Column by Ben Tanzer June 29, 2021
Digging back through some of the lost written treasures of 2020.
"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by C

"Burroughs And Scotland — Dethroning the Ancients: The Commitment of Exile" by Chris Kelso

Review by Gabriel Hart June 9, 2021
Kelso presents a fascinating exploration of Burroughs’s rarely mentioned but highly-formative era in Scotland.
"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

"Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke" by Eric LaRocca

Review by Sadie Hartmann June 1, 2021
A review of the upcoming horror novella, "Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke", by Eric LaRocca, in the style of one of my favorite resources, NoveList Plus.
Twisted: Tainted Tales by Janine Pipe

"Twisted: Tainted Tales" by Janine Pipe

Review by Andrew Fowlow May 4, 2021
When readers buy "Twisted: Tainted Tales" by Janine Pipe, they are getting an admission ticket to a visceral horror show.
Dark Fiction We So Desperately Deserve Right Now

Ring Shout by P. Djèlí Clark

Review by Andrew Fowlow February 22, 2021
We are all incredibly fortunate to have such a skilled writer determined to deliver this important message. Dark fiction with historical context we so desperately deserve.
Bookshots: 'A House at the Bottom of a Lake' by Josh Malerman

Bookshots: "A House at the Bottom of a Lake" by Josh Malerman

Review by Joshua Chaplinsky January 19, 2021
A review of Malerman's eminently creepy paean to teenage love.
"little threats" by Emily Schultz

"little threats" by Emily Schultz

Review by Ben Tanzer December 2, 2020
A taut psychological thriller with a very relevant message about real world power dynamics.
"Along the Path of Torment" by Chandler Morrison

"Along the Path of Torment" by Chandler Morrison

Review by Sadie Hartmann October 29, 2020
A punishing yet rewarding read that is not for everybody. Includes thoughts on reviewing extreme transgressive literature in general.
"Writing in the Dark" by Tim Waggoner

"Writing in the Dark" by Tim Waggoner

Review by Cina Pelayo October 19, 2020
A guide to understanding the horror genre that provides advice and tools for the beginner and refreshing tips for the veteran.