Mystery Writers of America Announce Edgar Award Nominees

News, Edgar Awards, Ace Atkins, Mo Hayder, Keigo Higashino, Anne Holt, Philip Ke

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the nominees for the 2012 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, which honors the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2011. The awards will be presented at the group's 66th annual banquet on April 26 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

The books in contention to be named the best mystery novel of the year are: 

  • The Ranger by Ace Atkins
  • Gone by Mo Hayder
  • The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino
  • 1222 by Anne Holt
  • Field Gray by Philip Kerr

Martha Grimes will be named Grand Master, one of the highest honors bestowed by the MWA. A cozy writer, she's best known for her series of novels featuring Richard Jury, an inspector with Scotland Yard.

Click here to see the full list of nominees. 

To leave a comment Login with Facebook or create a free account.